Public Access to Groups

Public Access to Groups

Posted by on Dec 2, 2013 4:18 pm

Why when a group is described as being public is it the case that when I try and look at something a banner with "You Do Not Have Permission" come up across the page. Surely Public Access is what it says or do I have to join any group that looks vaguely interesting?
N Cade

Re: Public Access to Groups

Posted by Phil Yates on Dec 3, 2013 8:51 am

Dear Nigel,
The groups on MyRSC are categorised as either 'public', 'private' or 'hidden'. The category 'public' means that any registered member of MyRSC is free to join that group (by simply clicking on the red 'join' button) at which point all the content within that group becomes visible. All public groups have a name and a short description which should hopefully give enough information for someone browsing to decide whether or not they want to join that group.
I agree with you that the 'error' messages on MyRSC are not helpful and this is something I am actively working on getting changed.
Best wishes
phil

Want to reply?

You must be signed in to MyRSC to respond to forum posts. If you're not currently a member, you can register for free.