Coaching and mentoring

Coaching and mentoring

Posted by Andy Kowalski on Nov 9, 2015 12:33 pm

Dear All

Having recently retired from a career in HEI and also worked  in pharmaceutical industry  and would like to pass on importance of the above topic as I believe it to be able to help those working in all areas of Chemistry and some who are still studying.

I have come across  quite a few instances whereby for whatever reason individuals have left their subject choice and gone on to do something totally different and this is after spending maybe 3-4 years pursuing a  degree and then something has happened  and they have abandoned waht they are started. Not only is  this frustrating for them but a waste of financial and time resources. These individuals need to be identified and helped and this is where  I can help as not only have i worked as a chemist but also hold both coaching/mentoring skills but also worked  as a manager where there was alarge concentration of both under and post graduates.

Every individual is unique with their own skillsets  who need to be developed, while the majority have agood idea of how they want  to progress once they have their degree others are not so sure and that is why I want to help.

I have been coaching and mentoring since completing my ILM Diploma and found it a very satisfying process to help people get on​​. Having been in a career rut and had  coaching support when it was needed, I was able to stay in the subject area and progress.

Please feel free to contact me via RSC if you think that it could help you.

Andy Kowalski MRSC MIScT MCMI

Re: Coaching and mentoring

Posted by Philemon Kiprono on Nov 9, 2015 3:58 pm

Dear Andy,